My First Project

My first project is coming to an end. It's a 4-string bass, made from mahogany, birch and rosewood, and I started it this fall. Since I don't have a shop of my own, I'm taking a woodworking class at a local school. That shop however, doesn't even deserve to be called a shop, more like a place with wood and knives basically! :D However, here's the pic:

http://www.snapdrive.net/files/348380/P1010382.JPG

All the parts, except fingerboard (which was prefretted and inlayed) and trussrod, came from a Jazz bass copy

Don't give me such a hard time, since this is my first project :D

Looking good =)

Im not a fan of the headstock but i really like the body shape.

Nice work!

+1. Like the shape - not the headstock. And, that image should be resized to something more reasonable. It's over 2MB.

Regards,

Rob

Have you test fitted tuners? The holes for the E & G strings look a little strangely placed - i dont think thats goin to work!

The body does look excellent but i would be tempted to rework the headstock. If you plug the current tuner holes you can veneer the front and back and come up with something that works better - and nobody need know :D

The headstock was f*cked up...I started out making the headstock, but my bandsawing skills suck, so it was messed up, so i added a little wood

so it would look better. I probably could fix it in another way, since it's not finished. Yes, the tuner holes is different sizes, because the school had a 16mm drill and a 18mm drill. Guess which size I needed? So I had to file from 16 to 17mm. That will be sorted in the next 4 weeks, and i will try to fix the headstock to some better shape.

I like that a lot, very ct influenced. Also I like the headstock, reminds me of Elrick basses but not so much on this bass. Overall nice work very clean look. How will you be finishing it?