Help With Stripping Paint!

iv spent hours sanding with 60 and 80 grit and an electric sander, and iv tryed paint stripper...but i still cant get through to the wood on my LTD M-100!

iv worn out 3 sets of mouse sandpaper...its costing me so much just to get the paint off, and its taking sooooooo long!

what can i do to get it off easyer? or is it normal to have this much throuble getting factory finish paint off?

this is my first try at anything like this...

i couldnt find any 50 grit paper to fit the palm sander i was using :D

and i tryed the paintstripping thing but that didnt work at all... it just dryed up on the surface without even touching the paint.

so do i just have to carry on and on and on with the sander?

:D

i hate sanding B)

My first refinish ever (2+ years ago) I did all by hand with a rubber sanding block and 60 grit sandpaper. Took me 3 hours a day for 4 days to get the body nice and clean. Patience is key. :D

You can make your own sandpaper for a palm sander, I do this with higher grits for my orbital. Just place a used piece of sandpaper from your palm sander on sandpaper of choice and cut around it to fit on your sander. Use cloth that will attach to velcro for hook and loop or a single piece of double stick tape in the center. Don't forget to cut out the holes so your sander will suck up the wood dust. Use an equal grit sandpaper piece to clean up clogged sandpaper.

i couldnt find any 50 grit paper to fit the palm sander i was using :D

and i tryed the paintstripping thing but that didnt work at all... it just dryed up on the surface without even touching the paint.

so do i just have to carry on and on and on with the sander?

:D

i hate sanding B)

Polyester is a pain to remove. Heat is your best bet to get most of it off. Be careful if you use heat, follow the tutorial, The fumes can kill you. Also, just take it down to the sealer, not to the bare wood. This will save you a lot of time.

okay thankyou for the tips :D