My Resonator Is Way Too Shiny ...

Hi guitar friends !

Yesterday I received a resonator.

Here are some pics:

res_front.jpg

res_back.jpg

The problem is that I don't like the shiny gloss ...

Do you guys have some sugestions to get rid of that shiny gloss ?

Keep in mind that I'm a complete newbie with all this kind of stuff... :D

thanks a lot !

= Raf =

You can rub the guitar with 000 grade or finer steel wool, a very fine grip wet-and-dry sand paper (2000 grid or higher) or something similar. Test in an area that is invisable like the rim of the sound well that the cover plate will hide if you don't like the look.

You can also hand it over to some small kids to play with for a wile and it will be scrached up, covered in grease finger prints and generally have a much more dull appearance.

I was going to suggest fine wire wool maybe with some wax on the wooden areas. It will dull it nicely.

You might want to take a bit of really fine sandpaper to the edges of some of the chrome parts to simulate natural wear, areas like the bit your hand would rest on always get the most wear. I bet there is lots of discussions on ageing metal hardware somewhere around here

I was going to suggest fine wire wool maybe with some wax on the wooden areas. It will dull it nicely.

You might want to take a bit of really fine sandpaper to the edges of some of the chrome parts to simulate natural wear, areas like the bit your hand would rest on always get the most wear. I bet there is lots of discussions on ageing metal hardware somewhere around here

It seems like I failed to explain what I want ... :D

I'm talking about the shiny body and peghead wood .

= Raf =

Edited by Raf_V

It seems like I failed to explain what I want ... :D

I'm talking about the shiny body and peghead wood .

= Raf =