Sound Of A Finish?

Ok. I have searched all over this forum and a couple more just to try and find if this is true or not and have very little to no evidence or sign that different types of finish have different influences/nuances in an electric guitar's sound. I suppose it ha more influence in an acoustic instrument, but is it the same for an electric guitar?

I am a total noob in this guitar building business, but have been playing guitar for over 25 yrs and always have thought this was a bunch of no sense. I personally prefer oil finishes but it is a tactile preference rather than a "soundwise" thing.

I know that there are many knowledgeable people here who have years of experience and I want to know their opinion on this. I don't want to start a flame war or anything like that, but I have been criticized and almost ridiculed in another forum for expressing these thoughts and I want to know If I should apologize for really being an ignoramus :D or if I am in the right path to build the best possible guitar I can with the best and most "musical" finish.

Thanks in advance. :D

i dont belive it. there was an argument a long time ago on here where some guy was saying that adding a great finish was just to make yourself look better and it destroyed a guitars sound and he would never use a finish again. i think thats crap. if wood, aluminum tops, and acrylic tops barley make a difference,(not even one you can tell right off) why would a finish of 1/32" or less make a difference? i just dont belive it.