Bloodwood Guitar

Questions at bottom.....

Hi, I'm planning on making my first guitar. I love heavy metal. I've been playing guitar for about 2 years, and I think that its finally time for a new guitar. I'm really into sweeps, so I want a guitar with 24 frets, and I want all of them to be effortlessly reachable. Also, I want a seven-string guitar because of the wider range of notes, and some bands I like (nevermore and meshugga) use them. I also want the guitar to be completely of my own design.

This is what I was thinking:

-Maltese cross body 02-06-08_2024.jpg

-ebony fret board, with an abalone Maltese cross at the twelfth

-Emg 707's for both the neck and Bridge

-one volume knob

-Huge stainless steel frets

-Maple or Mahogany Neck?

-Natural or stained (red or black)

-don't know what bridge, but I'd like it fixed, and obviously, seven strings. (Maybe a 7 string fixed Hipshot?)

-Probably neck-through

-I have no idea what tuners.

-Idk, but maybe a Jackson style headstock.

I have been to MANY sites, not to mention this forum, and I still have a few questions.

-does the neck wood affect the tone or sustain or something I'm not thinking of on the guitar?

-Would it be possible to use bloodwood for the body? I know that its expensive, but it would only cost like 66 bucks from advantage lumber (thanks supplies section) Some of my worries are that it would be to heavy (chambering?), have poor tone and sustain (according to this> http://projectguitar.ibforums.com/index.ph...222&hl=wood article it would have a darker tone, but what about sustain?) or maybe it's too weak or something. I don't know much about wood so please help me with this. I would otherwise use mahogany, but bloodwood is brutal! :D

-I have heard of necks breaking off of the body on some old guitars (Fenders?). Is that possible? how do i make sure that that doesn't happen?

-Do metal nuts have better sustain?

-What kind of bridge would you recommend?

-What kind of tuners would you recommend?