Acrylic LED inlays.

Snork

I had a great idea. i happened to know that acrylic diffuses light evenly through the acrylic. Why not make an inlay with acrylic and light it with LEDS? dont tell me it wont work because im a comp tech and i know wiring and crap and how to work with acrylic www.omegamp.com but will it mess up the tone and is it a good idea?

that would look damn sweet, only this is you would probablly need to have a fair few LEDs to light up a piece of acrylic that large and you'd need a way of getting the wires to all of them without them being visable through the acrylic

dude im a master of "stealthing" as we call it in pc mods world. (hiding wires). You guys could seriously get some inspiration from this. www.xoxideforums.com go to case gallery. But thats besides the point. Leds cost less than 5 cents in hong kong and on ebay. so thats not an issue. btw i can tell you from my expertise in this area. SIMS IS BS! LEDS COST THE BUYER TOPS 3 bucks A LED. Plus a resistor and a battery. tops 10 bucks. Plus solder and soldering iron 20/25 bucks. Is it worth the time? NO! even installing a switch to flick lights on and off is only 2 dollars. and btw... i know how to make a sound activated circuit. just another 20 bucks and would be kind of obnoxious unless i put another switch. but i dont think I'll do that because the amount of space required is greater than the amount in a truss rod space or any hole i'd be willing to cut in my neck. maybe i'd do that for my custom pickguard i was thinking about. but if you guys want info on wiring and crap let me know.

SIMS IS BS! LEDS COST THE BUYER TOPS 3 bucks A LED

SIMS does charge a fortune for installing LEDs but they do need to cover much more than the cost of the parts. To take a fretboard off, mount the LEDs, ... takes quite a bit of time. I didn't see anything on his site that showed how they handle the power supply - do they route a cavity in the body or do they try to cram batteries in the control cavity?