Tuners

Keep in mind that you can always change the tuner buttons. So you can use your favorite brand, just change the look.

The imperial buttons I've found are in the $20-$25 range. That's about the same as a set of Wilkinsons, and about 1/2 the cost of the Grovers. It's not really worth the cost to me to try and mix-n-match. Plus, I'm not an expert on tuners. As far as I ever got into it is 1) do they stay in tune, and 2) higher gear ratio=more precise tuning. Honestly, I couldn't tell you which brand is better than another.

i should say i do use grovers and have used wilkinsons a few times and have no real problem with them. But i am now used to sperzels and the grovers always feel rattly till they are installed... once they are installed they are fine. also i find i always have to play with the tension a bit, they never seem quite right till i have

Well, then, if it helps, any guitar that comes onstage with me gets fitted out with Grover locking tuners (with mini buttons). They're perhaps not the most precise - the crown for that goes to the tuners on my Takamine -- but they work really well for keeping the guitar in tune. And the price remains in the reasonable range. Another benefit is that their footprint seems to match the footprint of a lot of the stock tuners out there, so no need for drilling an extra hole.

I do have a set of EZ-loks that I haven't gotten around to using yet. They didn't inspire me with enough confidence to use them.