Problem With The Clear Coat: Pearlescent Patches.

Blackdog

Hi people.

I'm still a bit of a beginner with these finishing issues and I'm having a problem with my clear coats.

I'm spraying a nitro type lacquer with a HVLP conversion gun, and the problem is that in some areas (possibly where the lacquer accumulated a bit thicker, like headstock face edges and such) I get a kind of prearlescent patches that only show up when the light hits them at the right angle.

I sanded the clear back with 400 dry (I had to do it to level the finish a bit anyway), and resprayed a single rather wet coat yesterday, and when I checked this morning I had the problem again. In different places, so it's not that I didn't get rid of it when I sanded, it appeared again.

It's not the first time I use this material and equipment (I have finished two guitars prior to the current ones), and this is the first time I have this issue.

I was having a bit high humidity in the shop (70%), could it be that ? Maybe I should try laying down less wet coats ? Could this be the effect of water trapped in the air line ?

Any ideas ?

Thanks a lot for your help.

I certainly sounds like a moisture problem. Do you have a separator or dessicant inline with your air supply? I would also try to wait for lower shop humidity if at all possible.

I certainly sounds like a moisture problem. Do you have a separator or dessicant inline with your air supply? I would also try to wait for lower shop humidity if at all possible.

Thanks for the reply. I do have a water filter/trap in line with the regulated air supply I use for the gun. But truth be told, I have never checked it back since I installed the whole thing almost a year ago. It's the first thing I'll check when I get home this evening (I'm at the office now ;-)).