Carl Thompson Tribute Bass

Hey guys, I'm new to this forum. I'm relatively new to instrument building, but I have a decent foundation of woodworking skills. I'm currently building things in my little apartment in Maryland, but later this year, I will be attending the Guitar Craft program at the Musicians Institute in Los Angeles. I'm looking forward to being a member here!

Now that the intro is over, here's one of my current projects. I designed this bass as a tribute to Carl Thompson, who first inspired me to get into lutherie. His basses were the first instruments that made me really take notice of the craftsmanship and artistry that is out there. So here we go!

-30" scale
-Walnut body core
-Wenge sides
-Ebony fretboard
-Kahler bridge
-Hipshot Ultralite tuners
-Still undecided on the pickup. Some sort of soapbar, probably.

CTbass1_zps12b02965.jpg
Here's a good overall look. I based the design on Les Claypool's "Antimatter".

CTbass2_zps217d1ece.jpg
There's the back, gotta show off the wenge!

39305B1A-AF51-4E76-887F-646233AD1965_zps
Scarfed with my ryoba and a block plane. I think it came out pretty nice!

15B1FD20-F570-4915-9E19-CCB858055D35_zps
Centerlines marked and pins put in to keep the headstock aligned while the glue dries.

1282F486-DB2A-45FF-9441-F1BFB9AA4D68_zps
All glued up! We'll see how it looks tomorrow afternoon.

I'm not sure about the pickup, as I'm not very familiar with bass stuff yet. Any thoughts?

Looking pretty good. From my own personal experience however I would have placed the alignment pins outside of the neck profile. If the holes can be filled with sawdust and glue they might turn invisible however I would prefer to be able to just cut those holes away when I trim down my neck.

Looks like a good start KnightroExpress. I actually did my own CT tribute bass also!