How exact do fret slots have to be cut?

PRSpoggers

I cut them through a miter box and used a template that I taped the wood too and the slots line up with the notches on the scale length ruler but some of them I have to redo because they aren't exactly on there, or I just cut the new slot which will I hope cover the slot I originally cut which is like really tiny space wise. I'm just worried that I didn't do it right because this is my first time doing a fretboard slotting I could've messed up. I can fix it with thin super glue and rosewood dust but still, do my cuts have the within where the notch is or do they have to be dead on straight down the middle of the notch? (I am using the stewmac 25.5 inch scale length ruler for frets)

Depends which fret slots are off and by how much. In the lower registers an error in fret slot placement will result in less pitch error than it would in the upper registers given the same error in absolute distance, due to the exponential reduction of the spacing between the frets as you work your way up the fretboard. For example, an error of 1mm on the first fret will be less audible than an error of 1mm at the 17th.

1 hour ago, PRSpoggers said:

do my cuts have the within where the notch is or do they have to be dead on straight down the middle of the notch?

How wide is the notch you're using as your reference? If it's just a black etched mark as you'd find on a normal steel ruler I'd say that a fret slot falling on or within the edges of the mark would give perfectly acceptable results over the full length of the fret board.

• Like 1

Do you clamp the fretboard to the miter or just holding it by hand? If there's any play between the mitre box and the notched template your slots can get slanted.