I've come to a conclusion

avengers63

I now prefer single coils.

I started playing in 1987. I was all abut Hair Metal/hard rock at the time. Hard rock/metal was built on the foundation of a humbucker through a Marshall. This led me to the false mindset that singles had no balls and were the bets-male soy boys of pickups. Teles were for country, which is the antithesis of metal, and were therefore a clearly inferior instrument.

I was still in high school: young, still kinda dumb, and extremely opinionated. I'm still pretty opinionated, but I'm now able to hear other opinions with a critical ear.

So fast forward 35 years and I'm now heavily drawn to the single coil. The Tele bridge is just the neatest thing in the world. The harder the twang, the better. For harder applications, I'm leaning towards the P90. A HB is still great in the right applications, but those are becoming less prominent. 

I'm also leaning more towards overdrive instead of distortion. I'll always love the high gain of my youth, but a nice, warm, saturated OD with a s/c just resonates with me at this point in my life.

So have any of you older players gone through a similar journey?

• Like 2

10 hours ago, avengers63 said:

So have any of you older players gone through a similar journey?

I do love a good single coil when it's needed. But to me, for the most of the time, humbucker was the thing in 1987 an still is. A high output humbucker driving a cranked tube amp was and is the thing. At home I crank and attenuate the amp. I don't use distortion pedals nowadays at all. I have several overdrives and boosters before the amp though. SD-1 gets the most use these days. On some setups TS-9 is better. It depends on the amp. And it depends on the day, I guess. Sometimes something that sounded "best ever" yesterday sounds crap today 😅