Lace Sensors

tsl602000

I was wondering if any of you strat players have an opinion on Lace Sensors.. more specific the Gold type.

Please no reactions from the metalheads out there who only play high output humbuckers.... I know you hate those Lace sensors.

I bought a few cheap on Ebay and am also wondering if the pick up covers can be changed.

I love the lace sensors i just got. I've installed them on my oscar shmidt great great sound. to my surprise (drak) they actually had a large amount of quack in them like the holy grails. more so than the texas specials plus they overdrive well. really well. I love the sound of the lace sensor gold. Probably more than the grails because they overdrive much better. the grails are all about quack. but the golds have a bit when the tone is up and the clean on. its great stuff.

I'm a self-proclaimed quack expert, and the gold lace sensors are the only ones I can tolerate. I knew Don Lace's brother, and it turns out, he's the brains behind the whole idea, and he holds the patents. He made APC brand pickups for awhile. The way I see it is that Don and the other people at lace were sort of "performing a play without the script." They had some of the genious but not all of it. As a result, when they started branching out to different sounds they made some bad pickups. The golds are sort of the "originals" and they are okay. They are not icy clean, like a '57 for example, so if you have an old fender or plexi amp that gets crunchy, squeaky overdrive sound from strat pickups, you'll notice a little loss in the top end that makes strats so glassy. For example, they made Buddy Guy have the lace sensors in his signature strat, but he still recorded with the vintage stuff, and when he was on TV or at a big gig he'd have the signature model. The smoothness of them does make for a smoother or "better" overdrive, though. They're more polished sounding. There is some sort of natural decrease in output on the higher strings that the APC gu