neckthru 7 string korina rhoads

this is my first attempt at a neckthru. it is black limba and it is going to be a 7 string rhoads knockoff with a reverse headstock and a quilt top with blood red stain. i am still not sure about my bridge, either flatmount hardtail or floyd. im gonna add pics as soon as i get them up on a free site.

template.jpg

body.jpg

for most of the neck im going to use rasps, files, and fingerplanes. my trick to doing it is also making a radius type sanding block with a curve like that of a fat back strat neck to do some of the plane sanding to get the surface straight and even. if all else fails i can go to my friends house and use his workshop. he has a miliion zillion tools that can do the trick. i do need some tips on making the outline of the neck for when i cut it out. ive been trying to figure that part out and would like some tips.

for most of the neck im going to use rasps, files, and fingerplanes. my trick to doing it is also making a radius type sanding block with a curve like that of a fat back strat neck to do some of the plane sanding to get the surface straight and even. if all else fails i can go to my friends house and use his workshop. he has a miliion zillion tools that can do the trick. i do need some tips on making the outline of the neck for when i cut it out. ive been trying to figure that part out and would like some tips.

The problem i potentially see with the contoured sanding block approach is that it doesn't take into account the neck taper from the heel to the nut.

There are many different ways to carve a neck, but the one i learned was to use a spoke shave to do the bulk of the shaping. Go slow and make long, even strokes, palming the neck as you get close to the final shape to figure out exactly what thickness and contour feels comfortable. Then do the contours at the nut and heel with rasps and fingerplanes, then finally smooth it out with a cabinet scraper and sanding.