Ibanez Iceman

Hi there fellow luthiers. I'm new here so treat me good. (altough I have been reading this forum for a year or so) :D

I have thought about starting building guitars for a year or so.

An Ibanez iceman to be more precise. And unfortunately I can't find any drawings

or measures of it anywhere. So that's where you guys step in.

The question: Does anybody have/know where to find accurate measurements of it ?

Or even better, does anybody have/know where to find a CAD drawing of it ?

I was thinking about changing the body shape a little more for my taste.

And don't worry, I'm not totally new to luthiering (sp?), since I'm studying to become one and I have already made lots of different furnitures and such.

And reading ALOT about the subject. :D (Melvyn Hiscock)

So can anyone help me out ?

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have thought about starting building guitars for a year or so.

An Ibanez iceman to be more precise. And unfortunately I can't find any drawings

or measures of it anywhere. So that's where you guys step in.

The question: Does anybody have/know where to find accurate measurements of it ?

Or even better, does anybody have/know where to find a CAD drawing of it ?

I can't help you find the drawings, but...

Why do you need them? You know the shape, and you plan to alter it a little. The scale length, fretboard width, fret positions, bridge position etc. still need to be calculated by you. Why don't you just take out a (large) piece of paper, mark the scale length and start doodling a body shape. That way, you'll end up with a guitar that's fully designed by yourself. And probably just as good, if you do it with concentration.

I have already drawed it on paper. In a matter of fact, I have already cutted the shape out of plywood, but it just doesn't seem/feel right to me...

icemanshape.jpg

And anyway... I'm a perfectionist so... :D hmm maybe...

Any suggestions ? (regarding the shape)