Yet Another Broken Headstock

As you can see from the picture below, my new Morris guitar didn't manage to make it back from Japan in one piece:

56917310_82b9383cbb.jpg

Click here for more photos

As far as I can see, no splinters have fallen off it and it looks like the two pieces will fit back together pretty tightly.

I've never done much guitar repair before, but I've read up on fixing this on the internet. My main question is, do you think I'd get away with just gluing this back up, or do I need to put in splints or a back strap or something.

I'm not too bothered about how it looks at the end but I would like it to end up reasonably strong.

Many thanks for any advice.

John

Looks like mahogany. I would fit the pieces together temporarily and cut 1 slot in the front between the tuners, about 3/8" wide, 1" long and 1/4" to 3/8" deep. Make sure the slot is right in the middle of the fracture. Make two more slots of the same size, evenly spaced on the back but positioned so that they contact as much wood on both pieces as possible, your call.

Then make 3 hardwood "keyed-in" plugs that will fit snugly in the slots and sit higher than the surrounding wood surfaces. Test fit everything to make sure all wood faces contact like they should. Then glue and assemble / clamp it all together. Wait 24 hrs and then sand the plugs flush. The hardest part will be having to work out a good clamping method to ensure the joint doesn't slip.

Edited by Southpa

I'll second the second opinion. A properly done glue joint is stronger than the wood.

Cutting a spline in will, in my opinion, weaken the joint.

I would dry fit it, and while it's together drill two holes the size of a small finishing nail. Glue it up, put the nails in to maintain the alignment, and clamp 'er up. I'd use a couple of spring clamps. and let it set up for a day or so. The teeny holes are easy to hide.