Starting Up "business"

Hello all,

Its been a while since I've made my presence known here, but I have been around. I lost the ability to build for some time due to not having access to tools, workspace, etc. But Im back in action and hoping to hone and use my acquired skills to make the world a better place. Ha!

I really want to start making and selling custom designed guitar bodies and necks finished or otherwise, and the occasional complete guitar, but I am not really sure what would be the best avenue to take, or how to get my name out there. I am a professional vehicle designer by trade and work full time at Polaris Industries, so this would be and after hours "job" for a supplementary income. I am by no means under the delusion that I can become a professional guitar builder full-time. I more than anything want a way to finance my hobby of woodworking and help ease the crushing financial burden of student loans.

I have a few of my own body and headstock designs that have proven successful on an aesthetic level if nothing else, and one conceptual construction method that has proven successful on a prototypical level, but I plan to keep that one in my back pocket for a while. For the time being, providing unique and well thought out variations on the already proven super-strat platform seems like the way to go.

To all of you inspiring builders out there who actually build lines or one-off custom guitars for clients and customers: Whats the best and simplest way to get started?

I don't have a lot of capital to work with, but I do have tools, and skills, and a relatively good supplier for materials (i.e.wood). I also know an amazing musician to potentially endorse the product. Any advice is very much appreciated. Thanks.

Have the highest integrity.

Deliver what you promise.

Get a business plan. Get your business license. Get an accountant or learn to do it yourself.