Black Burst

daveq

I'm having the worst time trying to decide on a color for my PRS'ish project. It has a nice quilt top and it's a nice bright/pale color (no need to bleach).

Here's what the guitar is made of:

1.Quilt maple top

2.Alder body

3.Flame maple neck laminated with Wenge (7 piece)

4.Flame maple fretboard with wenge bird inlay at 12th fret

5.Wenge headstock with scarf joint

It will have chrome hardware and black knobs.

I was originally thinking that I'd do a cherry burst but I don't think I want to go that way now.

Now, I'm considering these:

A. Bright orange with a fade to darker orange/red at the edges

B. Black burst (would need some tips on how to do this)

C. Bright Yellow possibly with some fading effects

D. The good 'ol Blue Burst

E. Carri-burst

I have no experience with doing a black burst. I also don't know if that would be a waste of a really nice bright colored top (which usually tends to go well with bright colors).

:D I can't decide!!! HELP!!!!!! :D

Hey, DaveQ! It's been a while since I saw your topic (or I'm stark-blind!!)

Could you post some pictures of the unfinished guitar? Knowing your work, it looks great!

Anyway, having a maple board, I'd go for black burst, for the contrast, along with a matching headstock. If the board was ebony/rosewood, I'd suggest bright yellow/amber stain.

Can't wait to see it finished...

Cheers!

mullmuzzler | OSSMT

Has a black burst been done before? I've always thought something like that would be cool, but didn't know what approach would make it look best. I imagine if you dyed the top, being a little more liberal with the dye as you move closer to the ouside edge, then shoot opaque black around the edge before you clear it, it might look good.

Here's a pic of the guitar as it is now:

PRSbody1.jpg

No points for creativity on this - just trying to put together something in the neighborhood of a PRS. I did do a more aggressive carve though - just something I wanted to do.