Scale Lenght

colin

Hi,

I'me building my first and just cant find a description of what is a scale lenght.

Mine is a 24.75 for a lp but is that the lenght from the first string nut slut to the bridge or from the midle of the nut to the midle of the bridge bridge?

If somone could send me scale lenght for the first and the last string it would be appreciate.

Thank you

Hi there Colin,

As I found out the answer to the very same question this morning, (and being a noob myself) I thought I might be able to share with you...

The Scale Length is the length from the nut to the bridge.

As for the second part of your question - I think you might be talking about fret lengths ? If so there are heaps of free fret calculators on the net... just google them.

Cheers.

Edited by tikvo

[Quick disclaimer: I'm relatively new at this, but I think I understand what you're asking, so here's my understanding of it.]

Each string contacts the saddle at a slightly different distance from the bridge (due to intonation differences between strings).

The scale length is the distance from the fretboard side of the nut to the string contact point on the bridge. If you set the saddles to the middle of their range of travel within the bridge, the bridge should be installed so that that midpoint is the scale length distance away from the fretboard side of the nut (24.75" in your case). That will give you the maximum amount of possible intonation adjustment for each string.

(If it's a tuneomatic bridge, you can also mount the bridge at an angle to accomplish the maximum intonation adjustment range.)