Rid Me Of The Plastic Finish!

Good evening from London

Please bear with me as i'm a complete novice at all this.

I have a 97 Jap Strat with a natural finish. I love the guitar but the colour of the wood.... Well it's a bit Ikea. It has that awful Plastic acrylic on it which i want to remove, stain the wood darker and then just varnish so the body feels like wood to the touch.

What is the best way to remove the plastic, acrylic, poly... Whatever it is? I though just plain old paint stripper as i don't want to sand the body and there's no paint job to worry about harming.

Any advice would be gratefully received

Didn't mean to touch a nerve on the stripping tutorials - there is "some" good info in there. I have stripped numerous guitars and how you do it really depends on the finish that's on there. For example, Fender/Gibson mostly used nitro lacquer and Ibanez used the damnedest polyester finish! Also, many cheaper guitar manufacturers use a lot less clearcoat - so ....

For most finishes - a simple coat or two of Citristrip will work. It's not terribly toxic and IMHO doesn't seep into the wood as much as others. This will take two rounds and works on most imports like this:

1. Put on rubber gloves

2. Holding the body at the neck joint or with an attached scrap piece of wood, spray the body as you would to paint it (Citristrip comes in a convenient rattlecan)

3. Place body in kitchen size trash bag for 4 hours

4. Use PLASTIC SCRAPER to remove bulk of finish

5. Rinse with water soaked rags and repeat with clean trash bag

After the body has rested for a day, any residual finish is thinned enough to sand off with a bit of 400 or 600 grit. After sanding, wipe with naptha and start new finish.

If you have to brush a stripper on, make sure you use the one direction -> start at the horn and work your way down. If you don't mind toxicity, Kleen Strip works well.