Router Recommendation, Tele Template Dxf File

Hello,

So as my build and planning progresses, I've finally found a body wood that I like and will be getting my blank. Accordingly, this puts me in the market for a router. This will be my first build, so I will be taking things slowly and carefully.

I'm curious as to what you guys recommend for an entry level router. I'm a novice when it comes to wood working(I do have some experience with metal though). To be honest, I'm a bit intimidated by a full scale router, and was originally planning on taking it slow with a dremel/dremel router attachment. Online reading has talked me out of that. I've also seen that harbor freight has a little 2.5 amp mini router thing for 20 bucks. This seems like it might work for pickup cavaties and neck pockets, but I cringe at the thought of buying anything cheap from harbor frieght.

In any case, I'm curious what router setup would be ideal for a first timer for pickups and neck pockets? Something inexpensive but capable of getting the job done. My emphasis would be on something controllable and precise. Guitars will be my only application for it...at least for now.

Also, I'm curious if anybody has a dxf file of a tele template that is ready to be laser cut. That means no duplicate lines, splines etc. I've seen a few online but only have a viewer to see them so I can't tell if they are ready. Hoping someone can verify one of them for me.

Thanks!!!

This is my opinion, others may disagree. Regarding Harbor Freight. if it plugs in and spins, don't buy it. China has different standards. Do you really want something that was made in china spinning that fast near your body? Be selective when you buy from there.

Again... Just my opinion.

If you're looking to cut costs on a router, hit the pawn shops. I'm willing to bet you can find a very good router there.