Which 2k Poly For Wood?

Syxxstring,

The HOK stuff looks pretty amazing, and Coast sells "small" quantities. So can I ask you. I have a mini HVLP coming, 1mm tip which is about the same as a 1.3 on a full size gun. That seems like it'd work with UC35.

To get a quart of Uc35 is about $30, catalyst 1/2 pint is $21, a pint of reducer is around $11 (figure I need some to clean the gun and to reduce the mix, right?) So for $70 I'll have enough catalyst and reducer to mix 1/2 the UC35 in a 2:1:1 ration. pint:cup:cup. giving me a quart of finish, and leaving a half quart of UC35 for me to store, or I could buy more reducer and catalyst . . . .

If I buy just that, will that "quart" or 2k concoction be enough to spray 1 or 2 guitars, obviously I wouldn't mix it all at once since I assume I'll need to do 3 or 4 coats minimum over the SG100 they recommend for candy coating. Since I'm a beginner, I figure there will be a lot of wasted material, but I'm just trying to get a handle on how much of this stuff you need. I've only used rattle can's before this.

Thanks,

Todd

Syxxstring,

The HOK stuff looks pretty amazing, and Coast sells "small" quantities. So can I ask you. I have a mini HVLP coming, 1mm tip which is about the same as a 1.3 on a full size gun. That seems like it'd work with UC35.

To get a quart of Uc35 is about $30, catalyst 1/2 pint is $21, a pint of reducer is around $11 (figure I need some to clean the gun and to reduce the mix, right?) So for $70 I'll have enough catalyst and reducer to mix 1/2 the UC35 in a 2:1:1 ration. pint:cup:cup. giving me a quart of finish, and leaving a half quart of UC35 for me to store, or I could buy more reducer and catalyst . . . .