Rest In Peace Les Paul

Wow...it´s been almost a year already. I work as an English teacher down here in Mexico. When we introduce a new subject, we use a short story to introduce new vocabulary and new structures. They are normally very simple stories, and sometimes, the authors make pop culture references, such as "Brad and Angelina" or something similar. I was introducing a subject today, about some guys working on a design software. I started the story with something along these lines:

"The story is called ´Office trouble´. Two colleagues are talking about the delay on the software they are working on. This is Les, and this is Paul."

I just had to smile, you know?

Edited by MexicanBreed
  • 2 months later...

You know what's funny, he was featured on 'American Masters' (on cable TV), and after watching that show, I realized that the invention of the Les Paul guitar, in all honesty, was probably one of the LEAST of his achievements when looked at in scale and context to everything he did in his long career.

Seriously, there's not enough room on the page to lay out all the things Les Paul did in his lifetime, it's almost ridiculous what he filled a life with, what a Monster human being, guitar player, inventor, innovator, competitor, collector, hit maker, etc. he really was.

He literally started his career shortly after the freaking dawn of radio for chrissakes

He Jammed as a jazz guitarist at night with almost every well-known famous NY based jazz musician

that you've ever heard of, ...like ALL the Legends of Jazz Music, while still a young gunslinger in his 20's

At the same time holding down a daytime job as a Country Music radio guitar player

Guitar-Dueled with Charlie Christian

Held a stint playing with the Andrew Sisters

Soloed on one of Bing Crosby's biggest hits following the end of WWII

Had a Long String of Number One hits w/ Mary Ford and became a famous celebrity guitarist