Started building an electric today, need some help

Hello

I just joined here minutes ago, I started building an electric guitar this morning, but, where are my manners? My name is Curtis, I live in Ontario Canada and have been playing guitar for 2 years, anyways, I started building a Jackson RR5 replica this morning, I have been planning it out for over a month now, and finally got the chance to start building it at my neighbours wood working shop.

After I came home, I phoned my local and trusted guitar shop, asked bout a pricing for a generic 22 fret 6 string neck, i almost fell to the floor when he said 225 bucks starting price!!! I then found this website about building a neck.

Anyways, when i go to build a neck, can i take the back part, route the channel for the truss rod, then glue on the top peice, then the fret board? how do I route the truss rod? go deeper and deeper? or all the same? I am a newbie to this site, and to buildin guitars, so maybe a little help would be VERY much appreciatede

Thanks alot

Curtis

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

if you're using a double expanding truss rod then yes that would be the correct sequence, althouth make sure your fretboard is slotted before you glue it on the neck. a milling machine, a set of straight edge rails with a template bit.... or a truss rod template are all ways to rout the channel, it's narrow enough to do it in one pass, but muliple passes is always recommened.

Thanks alot

But, i was probaly going to get one at my local guitar shop, hopefully they aint too expensive like there necks, my god, also, a double expanding one is a straight channel with same amount of depth, correct?

Thanks alot, I didnt think this baord was this active

Curtis :D

Thanks alot, I didnt think this baord was this active

sometimes it is,soimetimes not...yes double expanding is a set depth.