Ajax Current Builds

So this is my first time attempting a build thread. I am also trying to figure out the photobucket thing, so please bear with me. This is a bass I built called The Choctaw. It is all mahogany, neck through, ipe fretboard with diamond MOP inlay. If I am successful with the pictures, I will post some of another bass and a strat that I am just starting.

URL=http://s1348.photobucket.com/user/joemayer01/media/image_zpsc4af27c7.jpg.html]image_zpsc4af27c7.jpg

URL=http://s1348.photobucket.com/user/joemayer01/media/image_zps6e986fc7.jpg.html]image_zps6e986fc7.jpg

image_zpsa6aed1f6.jpg

image_zps1810b0e6.jpg

Good to see you posted Ajax - and welcome again.

Yep, pics are visable. It looks like you're on your way to feeling comfortable with the woodwork sides of things.

As far as finishng goes, are you wanting to go more wipe on or spray on - what sort of finishes are you wanting to develop skills in? As in oils, water based, automotive?

The bass above will get 2-3 coats of sanding sealer and then 5 or so coats of nitro. This will be my first attempt at finishing. I have been using a friend of mine who does custom painting and pinstriping for a few years. He has done some really cool stuff for me, but I am finally ready to try my hand at finishing. My spray setup is almost complete, but that one will get rattle canned. That said, I saw a few guitars in a thread that Wes the man did with wipe on poly that I thought looked great. Here is another bass I am working on. Walnut and bubinga through neck. I didn't have any MOP, so I inlayed the fretboard with little walnut football shaped things. Not sure if I like it or not though.

image_zpsc6ee8ded.jpg

image_zps63fbb84a.jpg

These are some mahogany cutoffs that I had lying around the shop that I decided to turn into a strat. I jointed, glued them together and chambered them.

image_zps9f455650.jpg

Glue up.

image_zps687889ec.jpg

image_zps0a0f8069.jpg