Headstock Tuner Placement - Newbie Question

KeysNGuitar

I am a complete newbie to guitar building so I apologize up front.  I have always wanted to build one but never thought I had the skills.  After building my woodworking skills for the last five years and getting some decent tools, I want to give it a go.  I found two different PRS Custom 22 plans that look good but the one with lesser information has the PRS headstock while the one that appears to be very detailed has its own styled headstock (not sure why).  I printed out both headstocks 1:1 but when I place one on top of the other, the tuner placement isn't the same and are actually pretty different.  The headstocks do both line up with the neck drawing perfectly.  So, my question is does the tuner placement have to be in perfect placement or is the real science from the nut to the bridge and the tuners can be moved a bit?

Thank you in advance.  I will likely have more simple questions.

1 hour ago, KeysNGuitar said:

does the tuner placement have to be in perfect placement or is the real science from the nut to the bridge and the tuners can be moved a bit?

Straight string pull has its benefit as it helps to keep the tuning when bending or dive bombing but it's not crucial. If you look at PRS headstocks the two middle strings are slightly off, in Gibsons all strings are more or less slanted from the string line. Not to mention some Charvels, Jacksons, Kramers etc... Fenders tend to have a straight string pull but I guess some of the benefit is lost with the string trees.