Need noob guidance please

Hawkhandler

Never built a guitar before but I have some woodworking knowledge and the tools. The plan is outlined below but I don’t know where to start. Clearly there are templates for more cookie cutter build but if I can’t customize how I want then what is the point?  I’m sum, where should I start?

Les Paul DC body

Dual humbuckers

neck thru construction

24 frets

string thru with TOM bridge

body wood will be mahogany, no cap, no binding. I’m considering cherry for the neck and Ebony fretboard. I’d like to keep the Gibson style head but it would be great if I could get the strings over the nut with less or no kink. Additionally I’d like to add a zero fret.  Appreciate any and all help. Thanks in advance  

• Like 1

Hi and welcome aboard!

A LesPaul double cut, huh? Something like this:

large.1557629816_OR-kitaraa(5)(Medium)(1

The GOTM entry description is here: https://www.projectguitar.com/forums/topic/49819-guitar-of-the-month-july-2019/?do=findComment&comment=579304 . I built it before becoming a member so there's no thread about the actual building process.

Anyhow, the neck is where it all starts. You can make it wedge shaped all the way from the nut or start from a straight block and shape just the neck. Similarly you can cut a neck break angle or make it flat like on Fenders. Since you're going to use a TOM a break angle is preferable. As you can see I had the neck almost finished before applying the wings. The long piece of laminated wood is heavy and the wings would be in the way most of the time. Oh, and as you can see I made my life more complicated as I didn't leave places for clamps in the wings! Some step like notches here and there would have helped.

A member here (adfinlayson) has a youtube channel with some good videos.

youtube.com/adfinlaysonguitars

Look at his videos and any others you can find to develop a plan, pick out things that make sense to you and that match the tools you have.