The Wonders of Ply? Opinions?

Hi Guys,

I'm fairly new to the whole notion of building a guitar from scratch, and im ttrying to work my way up in a fairly cost effective manner :D

I bought a 2nd hand Onyx warlock copy thing that I planned on refinishing and generally just refurbishing, however after starting to take off the paint ive reallised its made of ~40mm thick ply (i was wondering why it was so light) B) I also found 2 fairly small cracks around the neck joint on the body that have come all the way through the finish.

Since then ive actually managed through a mate of my dads to get myself a few peices of ply about 1m square and ~50mm thick that are offcuts from peices used to floor trains.

So my idea was to use the peices of ply to basically stuff around and try and create my own shape body, but with the same neck joint and cavities as the old one, so that way i can still refinish it and put all the old hardware in the new body, but I dont have to worry about it being weak and ready to snap (like the old one, since it had those 2 cracks in it). I would basically use this as a guinea pig for a material finish and as genral practice for cutting a body.

Does that sound ok? Is ply really THAT crap, in that it would be a complete waste of time? Cause before i took it apart, the bridge pickup in this thing was hot as far as i was concerned. It was nowhere near as mellow as my other guitar made of mahogany, but it had this awesome raw crunch to it which i loved for my metal stuff. And with this ply, if it works i would like to keep it as half memento, half playable guitar, and if it doesnt... i havent wasted any money? :D

- Dan

If you're just 'getting into it', I think plywood is a great idea and learning platform.

Go for it.