"Finding" wood

Can one take a trek into the woods and find nice woods? :D I have a rather large wooded reserve near my house, and perhaps there are some old Maple trees that have recently fallen, or have been hit by lightning, etc.

I'm not against paying money to a local or online wood shop, but why not take advantage of local resources if I'm not destroying any trees? If a fallen tree is just going to sit there and rot, I might as well break out the chainsaw.Which leads me to the question: Are the nice flamed and quilted pieces that are seen online, generally from older growth trees, meaning, I guess, are these nice samples usually from trees that are gigantic in diameter?

Also, I'm finding pretty nice flamed and quilted maple pieces online for reasonable prices. I will probably go with lesser grade flamed pieces for my first attempt at carving and shaping a top. Sorry for my ignorance, Im an absolute beginner and I'm trying to get educated on wood types and varieties.

I havent been able to find a comprehensive page which has links to various wood distributors. Doe you know if one exists?

good luck with your project. Im getting a list of needed tools together right now. Im going to start stocking up on wood soon.

If you find wood it needs to be cut and then dried for about a year or so... Wood needs to be around 5% humidity to be stable.

I have started to look for trees that have been cut down in my area, but I would need a trailer.

Most flammed woods come from older trees, that are dying. Also spalted woods come from sick trees that are infected.

I havent been able to find a comprehensive page which has links to various wood distributors. Doe you know if one exists?

I don't know if you've already looked here on projectguitar (the main pages) or not but here's a link to the supply section:

Supply