Newbie In On The Guitar Build Off, Some Stats Too!

RMS

Hi Folks, I am new to guitar building and also not to mention the basic "RULES" or do's and dont's of this build off coming soon. What I would like to find out is 1) will I have to cut my own fret slots? I am still in on this either way I was just wondering. 2) what specialty tools will I need, I am not talking router or belt sanders these basic power tools I already have.

I did some tallys on the guitar build off poll also:

14 people entered, and voted below for these shapes/guitars:

8 votes for the LP

7 votes for the Tel.

6 votes for the PRS

6 votes for the Expl.

5 votes for the strat

2 votes for the SG

1 vote for the Arctop

1 vote for the V

Happy Holiday Everyone!

If you are a newb, DO NOT enter the comp. Why do you want the added pressure of a competition on top of trial and error, or learning, when building your first guitar. You are asking REAL basic questions, yet wanting to compete against guys who have proven they can build a nice looking instrument. Let them compete, and just you worry about building SOMETHING rather than competing.

Hopefully there is a rule which states only known members can join in.

Yep I am a newb also so its not time for this yet. I am doing a restore job and am picking up the tools as I go a leaning as I go. Stew Mac is making a killing off of me and everytime I order something I always forget something and then have to make another order, I dont want to make small orders so I end up adding a few more things to it. But all the tools will get used again so its just the initial investment that seems outrageous, but by the time I start the next build I will have everything I need.