Jesus Lives In Cheesburger Stains, But A Goat Lives In My Maple.

So...I've been a bad project guitarist...away for too long. But the upside is that I've been researching and finally building guitars.

I thought since everyone at this forum has been nice to me and helpful over the years, I thought I'd share my current project.

So over the past year I have been fortunate to work with some guys who spend their life creating and building with their own hands. The company is called CCG Woodworks. They do custom cabinetry, desks, and furniture to fit the client's needs. The guy I know is my buddy Phil Ebner, Deutschland's dorkus-extrordinaire--he was the former bassist for my new band Vocoder. The other guy is Evan Smith and he's a really cool dude with a Boston accent.

Here's the base of the body. It's an alder core with a thin piece of walnut covering it creating a pinstripe between the top and base.

CCGCustomTele-base.jpg

The top started off as a solid piece of crotch maple...or whatever type of maple it is, since the figure goes in a gazilllion directions. There were many voids so I had to space out the maple with cocobolo and purpleheart that were lying around from someone elses project. My brother is an artist and pointed out that the purple and brown bleed pigmentally (is that a word?) into each other and I should have used maple or another lighter wood in between the cocobolo and purpleheart to offset the color. Oh well.

CCGCustomTele-top.jpg

About the time I was about to start cutting, I realized that I was lacking thickness to the body, so I added another piece of maple that Phil had picked up from Home Depot. When we book matched it we found the strangest figure. He saw little heads and eyes, but I saw a massive goat, ala satanic hubub style. I'm and Aries so it didn't bother me, but if I get popular and more talented after playing this guitar you'll know that me, Robert Johnson, and Tenacious D had something in common...

CCGCustomTele-goat.jpg