What Kind Of Wood Is This?

Hey folks..

I robbed my job for a couple of small logs as they were expanding the business, and had to cut down some trees.

Some people told me that it was maple, but I recognise the leaves on the maple, and it is definitely not that, but aside

from maple and a few select others, I have little knowledge when it comes to trees, so... can any of you help...?

I'm thinking Ash, but I don't really got anything to back that up with.. hehe..

Another thing, what should I do with this wood. I know I must let it dry for a very long time, but should I cut some planks from it, or just leave as is..?

Here's some pictures...

wood1.jpg

More wood

Leaves

Thanks!!!

I'm not sure of what type of wood it is I will look it up. You should cut the logs up into billets or whatever you are planing to do with it. Just remember to seal up the ends and stack it properly with sticker(a 3/4"x3/4"xhow ever long you need)and use allot of weight on top so it wont warp or twist as it dries. Make sure to store the wood somewhere dry and warm. Good luck on the wood.

Mike :D

The leaves are a little hard to ID looks like they are chewed up a bit. Off the cuff I would think an Ash(not sure what types of Ash grow in your area), or a Basswood is a possibility(again I would look at species that are more common to your area). If these were cut on a lot or at someones house(not a range of native trees). You could have a non native species. I know my daughter and I walked through our neighborhood identifying softwoods, and found about 20 species within 6 blocks of our house.

It is a good idea to seal the ends of the log. You should de-bark it so you don't get insect or fungal damage. I would probably mill it(or have it milled). Then you will have a little better luck drying it(about a year per inch or so* depending on your normal temps and humidity). Be sure to keep it off the ground, stickered(if you have it milled) to allow for air flow.