Starting It Or Not ?

Hello people,

I have 27 years old, I´m a guitar player and I like guitars very much..(especially Ibanez models :D )

I was very anxious when I saw this forum for the first time two years ago, because I liked the idea to make my own guitars (especially because in my country the prices are ridiculous and there are not too much variety of guitars to choose)

so, thanks to this forum, I bought two books from amazon: the hiscock´s one and the Martin Koch´s one.

The big issue is this: I have no experience with wood in anyway. I have never even use a drill before in my life.

So would you recomend to me to start "playing with cheap woods" to get experience or you all people think that one who wants to beging with this have to make a wood practice course or something like that to get experience or starting to know how to calibrate or repair guitars for example?

I mean is it worthy if I begin with this ? because you know, I would have to buy and invest in tools to begin with ?

Is it essential to have a big place to work with ?

Anyone of you people began with this with no experience at all or you had have wood experience before ?

Sorry If I ask something that was done 1000 times before, I´m very serious with it. I think if I go into it, it could tweak my life and job in a future..

Thanks,

Demian.

Edited by Demian

To answer a couple of your questions,

1. You can get "real" guitar woods very cheap. Something like alder for the body, maple for the neck etc. The majority of the cost is in the hardware.

2. It is not necessary to have a big shop or power tools (it just makes things faster and easier). Many people around here work in the garage or on the kitchen table with nothing but some inexpensive hand tools and sandpaper.