Neck-through Help

Hey, I'm new to the forum here and just had a quick question.

So I'm taking a guitar building class for college and was thinking about doing a neck-through Les Paul.

This is my first build, so I don't know much about the tonewoods. I was thinking about doing a maple (with maybe another type of wood laminate) neck with a macassar ebony fretboard, mahogany body wings, and a quilted maple top.

Now, would the maple neck and top get rid of some of the "muddiness" associated with Les Pauls, or would the choice of body wings not even affect the tone that much?

I am still getting over the fact there is a college class for guitar building...

Your design sense is apples and oranges as I find the LP tone nice and warm not muddy. Choice of pickups would have a more drimatic effect than your choice of woods like using single coils. But if you feel maple is brighter then yes it would...

welcome to the forum

It isn't the wood that makes the LP muddy,rather it is the poor choice of pickups Gibson chooses to use.

Get an LP studio with a JB in the bridge and a 59 at the neck,or an 81/85 combo if you like high gain rock/metal,and I doubt the word "muddy" would ever cross your mind again.

Actually, in some Les Pauls (copies, mostly) the wood CAN push the tone into a darker direction. Not the nice Gibson ones so much, but rather ones that say things like "Epiphone" or "Ibanez" or "LTD" on their headstocks: many of those guitars have a flame maple veneer bent over an otherwise all-mahogany body, which lets them say "maple top" in the sales brochure without going to the trouble of actually having a 5/8" thick top laminated on there. (They also rarely have "genuine" Mahogany bodies - it's usually a wood that's merely nicknamed mahogany, such as Agathis or Sipo.) In a case like that, you're basically playing a mahogany guitar without any tone-brightening maple to speak of.