Making A Bamboo Guitar

Hi everybody, I've been toying around with the idea of making a semi hollow electric guitar entirely out of bamboo. I've been looking and I havnt found a whole lot of direct information on how to go about this, besides go with bamboo thats vertically laminated :D From what I gathered people have said go to a flooring company to order material, but when I think of flooring I think of very thin wide sheets of wood hardly enough for a guitar neck. So if anybody could tell me specifically what to do or share there experience with making a bamboo guitar that would be great I am a newbie so please do not flame me :D

your kinda out there on your own with this one. i'm sure it has been done but i havent ever heard of it. so your gonna have ot think outside the box and do a lot of research on bamboo i dont think many poeple are gonna be able to help you.

The body shouldn't be difficult in bamboo - the neck I would question. While bamboo is quite strong, it's also extremely pliable. Vertical lam would be very strong - but I really think to do a neck in bamboo, you would have to create a lam that alternated grains in some fashion to overcome some of the elasticity - otherwise, you'd have relief issues. Again, this is theory.

As for getting it from a flooring shop - yes, it will be thin - between 8 and 12mm, but for a semi-hollow... it might work. Even the bamboo cutting boards (2-3" thick) that chefs use are lam strips and very expensive.

Not saying it can't be done - just from a physics standpoint it has some interesting challenges.

The body shouldn't be difficult in bamboo - the neck I would question. While bamboo is quite strong, it's also extremely pliable. Vertical lam would be very strong - but I really think to do a neck in bamboo, you would have to create a lam that alternated grains in some fashion to overcome some of the elasticity - otherwise, you'd have relief issues. Again, this is theory.