Inlays

Curtis P

Hello

I just read the post of Engraving that Clavin posted (by the way, great job!!) and, i wanted to know what kinda of inlays i should do for a Jackson tribute, I dont really like the shark fin things, yet, i dont want anything too complex as this is my first time, I am not going to do the Rhoads flying v propellers either, i was already thinking that, but no.

Any ideas? i dont want just regular dots, something a little different

Curtis

Thanks Curtis

Well, your at the most fun part.

What do YOU want on YOUR guitar?

What floats your boat? Your the captain! If you can think it, you can draw it, and if you can draw it, you can inlay it most likely.

I got into inlay because I thought it would be cool to see a guitar with a coral reef inlaid down the fretboard.

My "Living Sea" guitar is the result

Don't get stuck on things you have seen already. That's 99.99% of peoples problems when to comes to guitar inlay.

Your first inlay can be a single outline, or maybe a few pieces.

Practice on some scrap wood first whatever you do. Your going to make mistakes.

I have made plenty, and keep making them.

thats how you learn. :D

So- my standard question set that goes out to my clients (who know they want "someting" but are not sure) is based on this-

1) What inspires you the most

2) Any hobbies or passions you like to think about?

3) Favorite animals, or marine life (sorry.. my personal thing!)

You get the basic idea.

Craig

wow, very inspirational, i enjoy guitar, engines, and working in the garage on stuff, hmm, maybe a guiatr inlay, then down the fret board is the patch cord, then finally the amp? i dunno, something along that??

Curtis

thinking about it i think that having gear wheels instead of dot inlays would look damn cool. either that or having a large cog somewhere else on the guitar