I've just finished my first electric guitar build and couldn't be happier with how it came out, now I look to step it up by building an acoustic, more specifically a retro acoustic-electric 1959 Martin D-18E (the guitar Kurt Cobain played on the MTV unplugged set). I'm having a little trouble getting started, I can't find any plans online or any templates. Also since this is my first acoustic build I would appreciate every single bit of advice (even if it might seem obvious or stupid, please tell me anyways). I do have a few years' experience in woodshops but only one build's worth of luthier experience so any advice helps. Some questions I definitely need answered: What special setups, jigs, or tools do I need to buy/make for this? Definite "DO NOT"'s? What can I do (other than double check of course) to make sure everything is going according to plan while building? Thank you

Please advise,

Abram Tribby

I'm by no means an expert in building an acoustic but searching the Net gave some answers that may help you forward:

First, it's a Dreadnought and finding plans for those is a no-brainer.

Second, it has forward shifted X-shaped scalloped bracing.

Third, the top is of Sitka Spruce and the sides and bottom of Mahogany.

Searching for "martin dreadnought plans" gave plenty of results, the first one being this: https://genone-luthier-supply.com/products/dreadnought-guitar-plans

5 hours ago, Bizman62 said:

Searching for "martin dreadnought plans" gave plenty of results, the first one being this: https://genone-luthier-supply.com/products/dreadnought-guitar-plans

I checked out the link you sent, it might be a good start but I see some differences between that model and the one I want to make - most importantly: it’s not setup to have the electronics like I want. I’ll attach a picture below to show what I’m looking for

image.jpeg