The Meanie

this is a solidbody warlock style mandolin under construction. 4-piece spruce body, emg 89, and the neck will be 1 piece maple this is my first attempt at making an instrument so any sugjestions are welcome. the finish is autopaint from rattlecans I don't remember what kind off hand but I'll look and see later.

pics at:

http://www.freewebs.com/selmac/themeanie.htm

awesome concept, but the pickup location looks bad when falling off the edge imo.

Edited by sepultura999

I agree, I like the idea, but the execution is a little rough. It might be tough to play too, mandolins usually have pretty pretty compact bodies without much in the way of horns. You might have a little trouble with those. I also think that waist is a bit too thin. What scale lenght are you using? All in all though I give you a thumbs up for trying somthing different. Keep us up on how its going.

13" scale length. the pickup ring is but up with the edge, that happened because my little 8" bandsaw doesn't like cutting thick stock. I had it stringed up and it played well when you were standing, but was a little unwieldly when sitting. I made the neck before I knew anything so it was a butt joint neck-headstockwith about a half an inch thick walnut skunk stripe going through the back for support. yeah the moral of the story is no butt joints. under full string tension the headstock came so far up the strings were popping out of the nut.

the bridge isn't on it in those pics so I assume your talking about the tailpeice. a tailpeice is where the strings anchor, mandolins use loop end strings not ball end. I got it off ebay. I got 2 like that one, a flowery one and a four string one for like $20. theres alot of differnt varieties available. one thing that made it difficult is it had to be off center as if it were centered it would be impossible to play sitting down

• 5 months later...