New To Bass

hey guys, my band has recently made the decision to thow out our current bass player and put me on bass (i CAN play bass, just havent done it seriously) and I had a few questions. I need to buy a bass and possibly a bass amp. I've got a PA, could I plug the bass directly into the PA mixer and have it work sufficiently? Also I've been looking for a bass that would be good (and I don't mean good for a beginner) for 300 dollars or less. I've been looking at this after being reccomended to it by a friend. I just wanted some other opinions on it, etc. I'm new to bass so I dont know what brands are good, etc. Comments are appreciated, thanks.

Oh, and if the bass into PA thing wont work, what are some good amps that are cheap that I could use?

Edited by silvertonessuckbutigotone

My friend has one like it, from the same series. It just has the precision pickup, and 2 knobs. I am not a bass player, however a lot of people have recommended for a good bass in your price range the Epiphone EB-0.

Whatever anyone suggests in this thread, try it out.

For a bass amp,

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/g=bass...ase_pid/482037/

that should do.

By the way, why not just find another bass player? They are tricky to find, at least in Toronto, but if you look hard, you'll find one, and it saves you money.

hey, the bass your interested will be good, i have a soundgear bass (with out the active pickups) and its pretty reliable and good. now for the amp, all i know is bass mess up guitar amps if you turn it on loud, so for PA Systems if there anything like guitar amps i wouldnt try it.

IMO i would buy a Bronze Warlock bass because their pretty wild but i know from experiance that the soundgear basses are good.

and how much watts are you looking for in an amp? like do you need a beast cabinet+head or just a combo?