First Build: Les Paul Inspired Guitar

After a long time thinking about it, I finally started my first build. I always liked the Gibson Les Paul, but I didn’t want to make a replica, so I let the Les Paul be my inspiration and designed my own guitar. I wanted my guitar to have more of an attitude, to be more 'rocky' then a regular Les Paul. I came up with the following design:

AJGguitardesign.jpg

Here are the specs:

Mahogany body

Mahogany neck

Zebrawood Top

Carved top

Ebony fretboard

Angled set neck

scale length of 24 3/4 inch (628,650mm)

Angled Headstock

Zebrawood laminate on headstock

Chrome hardware

2 Humbucker pick-ups

Tune-o-matic bridge

Custom 12th fret Inlay

Transparent Black Finish

As this is my first build, I obviously lack experience in building guitars. To make up for it I'm taking things slow..... so bear with me :D

Grz Arjan

Edited by ArieBombarie

I started a couple of weeks ago, so I have made some progress already.

Here is the wood I bought:

Woodtogehter.jpg

I started with making templates out of 8mm MDF, then I got some work done on the body...

The Mahogany wasn't wide enough for the body, so I had to make it a two part body.

Glue2.jpgglueclamped.jpg

After the glue set, I cut out the basic shape with a bandsaw. Then I attached the template and used a router to get the sides lined up with the template...

router.jpgroutingfinished.jpg

Then I sanded the sides with an drum-sander which I made out off PVC pipe (the one you find under your sink...)

sidesanding.jpgsidesanded.jpg

Grz Arjan

I just don't see a huge departure from a Les Paul to say that it has a more rocky feel. However the few details I really like are the large carve of the lower horn and the headstock. The body otherwise looks pretty standard except for the controls. I like your logo, but am not thrilled with the fret inlay.

Hey,