Acoustic Song Suggestions?

Mickguard

Right, we're at a bit of a crossroads in my guitar lessons, because my teacher's having trouble finding material that will help me move forward. A big part of the problem is that I'm not very good at articulating to him what I'm looking for, partly because I don't really know much of what's out there in terms of acoustic guitar music.

I'm a singer first, and as a guitarist, I really prefer rhythm to lead --no noodlin' solos for me. My goal though is to develop a rhythmic playing style that incorporates some lead type work.

Too much of the acoustic music I'm finding is blues oriented, and I'm just not into that, especcially not for singing. I'm not really into the heavily folky stuff either. Also, I flatpick -- don't like to use my fingers.

Like I said, I'm a singer-- so it really helps me to be able to sing a song while I'm learning the guitar part for it, the song has a better chance of ending up in my repetoire. (I have a pretty low voice, means I can't pull off a lot of singers, like Plant, Daltry, et al ).

We hit on a few Jethro Tull songs -- One White Duck, Wondrin Aloud, Cheap Day Return-- which I really enjoy playing, because the guitar parts are relatively challenging and his voice remains within my own range. Since I'm a huge fan of Lou Reed, he came up with the tab of some of his songs -- Perfect Day, Caroline Says, The Bed. (He also gave me some tab from Vintersorg-- it's instrumental, but, damn after playing that stuff, I made a huge leap forward with my technique).

Now I'm looking for other song suggestions -- particularly songs that will help push my technique forward a bit. Could also be electric guitar parts that lend themselves to acoustic playing.

So what songs do you play that help push you forward? What do you play to impress the people at the music store?

Thanks for any ideas!