222 Pages Of Builds!

For those of you who have been here a long time, how 'bout listing what you think are the best posts in regards to the building process. I'm not talking about which guitars are prettiest, but which of these posts best document a build from start to finish. Perhaps we can compile them into a big list/sticky. I know those who are new to the forum would love to have a best of list before perusing all 222 pages.

Hi everyone, first post!

I've been reading for a while, and wanted to finally register and say that I think that's a great idea.

As a beginner, I've learned so much from reading through build threads - I actually feel like I've picked up more seeing various guitars built than from reading the couple books I purchased. If there's anything more useful to preparing to do it yourself than seeing someone else do it, it's seeing a number of people do it, as seeing the different ways people solve the same problems gives (at least to me) more insight to enable me to come up with my own solutions, now that I've got some ideas of the types of thinking that work.

Build threads are an awesome learning resource!

-Matt

Edited by mattamatta

No list of builders is complete without Perry (rhoads56 is his screen name, I think). He's my favorite as far as following builds. WezV is also very good, and avengers63 is great for getting some unorthodox ideas (though I am using the ebonized walnut neck gig on a couple of current builds).

As far as builders to search threads on, off the top of my head...WezV, RAD, Avengers63, Blackdog...mhhh...Guitarnut (I wonder where he´s gone to!)

It's nice to have my name called in such company. I'm still around. Life has become very busy and I still have several unfinished builds...promised myself I wouldn't start anything new until I finish those. Into last fall, I spent alot of time resawing and prepping body blanks, tops, neck blanks and fretboards. I'll be back in it this spring for sure.