Scale : 25.5

Frets : 22

Trussrod : ALLPARTS

Body : Allparts Ash

Tuners : Locking

Pickups : TBD

Bridge : TRS Floyd

Electronics : 1 Push/pull

I have been chasing vintage Kamikazes on eBay for a few years but just do not want to spend that kind of money on that simple a guitar. It is time to make one. I am going to use an ash body instead of the soft maple. Maybe later down the road I will build a soft maple body but for now this will do.

Allparts reverse hockey stick and single humbucker ash strat body. Both pieces are very high quality Japanese parts.

P4140842.jpg

P4140843.jpg

P4140844.jpg

After bolting the neck on it is time to line everything up. Using a long straight edge I mark the taper of the neck past the bridge. Next I use the centering ruler to make a center mark near the neck then near the bridge. I then draw the centerline. I am using a .5 lead pencil for this with a very light touch (not pushing on the pencil) allowing for the offset of the thickness of the lead.

P4140845.jpg

P4140846.jpg

P4140847.jpg

Digging through my templates I realize I do not have a Floyd Recess template. I am not waiting around on Stew Mac. I use a square 6x8" piece of hardboard with the rough side up. Mark center lines on it and start laying out the floyd recess. I leave a 1/8" on each side of the tremolo.

P4140848.jpg

P4140849.jpg

Sweet. Actually saw George Lynch today at the Dallas Guitar Show.

He played pretty good this time, but he still needs to learn how to tune a guitar,

and quietly. ;D

Did you use the specs off the Floyd Rose site for the templates? I have a Mighty Mite

Strat I've been wanting to install a recessed Floyd on, but didn't feel like spending

the money for the Stew Mac templates either.

Sweet. Actually saw George Lynch today at the Dallas Guitar Show.

He played pretty good this time, but he still needs to learn how to tune a guitar,

and quietly. ;D