My 2nd build: DOPAMINE

DOPAMINE

This is my 2nd build and was one of the most challenging project I've ever done. I put a ridiculous amount of time into it. 

This was my first: http://www.projectguitar.com/forums/topic/48345-let-me-have-it-first-build-adrenaline/

On the first day of working on it, it jerked on the router and took a chunk of meat out of my finger and drew a lot of blood, that is what earned it it's color.

I designed this body with functionality and uniqueness in mind.

Body: Ash , Padouk accent (Pickup rings, switch, back cover)

Neck : 24 fret Floyd neck 

Scale: 25.5"

Pickups: Artec

Electronics: Simple 3 way switch, tone, volume

Finish: Torch, Dye, Shelac, Oil

Please let me know what you think, I am still learning about guitar building so any feedback you have is greatly appreciated. :D

IMG_2337.JPG

Photos.jpg

Collages.jpg

IMG_2271.JPG

IMG_2272.JPG

IMG_2273.JPG

IMG_2274.JPG

IMG_2319.JPG

IMG_2320.JPG

My brother in law playing it : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FZePJAPuEWM

Edited by MasterOfTheWind
  • Like 2

Thank you Andy !!

I used regular cheap wood dye, it comes in a powder and I mixed red with a little bit of yellow to get that fiery bloody color.

Actually, as the wound was healing it went through just about all the colors that are on the guitar except for the chrome... :hyper

I have pictures of it, but trust me, it is not something you'd want to see... LOL

oh yes, not a good picture... unfortunately I saw it first hand... hahahha ... lesson learned right? "Respect the router"

I always try to have a healthy fear of the power tools when I'am using them.

• Like 1

5 hours ago, ScottR said:

I love all the curves and contours, and the color and the finish.

Were you trying to capture a flame with the shape?

SR