Sanding sealers

cycledude

I am new to building guitars. My main interest is strat and Les Paul styles. I have a half-assed Les Paul DIY kit I am currently working on with a really decent tiger stripe maple top which I dyed a light blue and the back being mahogany I dyed a combo of blue and black. Mahogany being a somewhat grainy wood I dyed and hit with a couple coats of Varithane sanding sealer to fill in the grain and there's the issue. This stuff does a lousy job of filling anything and is so limp you can basically sand though it in no time and ruin the dye job below. Can anyone recommend something that works better. I'll probably go with a top coat of poly since I'm working in my basement and even though I have lacquer on hand it seems like a less healthy choice when ventilation is an issue. Note DYI kits usually have really shit components I replaced everyone of them so I want this thing to be more than hack job. 

It's a clear sealer, isn't it? If so, you've done the right thing by dying first as the sealer most likely won't take dye. That way you'll have dye in the bottom of the pores. Then after sanding you'll have to dye the wood again, this time to apply dye on the leveled wood. That's a normal procedure.

You can also add dye to the sealer but again you'll have to reapply dye after sanding. The sealer is meant to fill the pores only, not act as a primer for the clear coat.

On 12/5/2020 at 3:26 PM, cycledude said:

Can anyone recommend something that works better

I hesitate to recommend this, because it's messy and stinks and not good to breathe......but CA does a really good job of filling pores and they stay filled. It used to be pretty common to use it around here, but you don't hear about it much anymore. I used it again for the first time in years on my last build and am super pleased with the way it came out.

SR

• Like 1

• 1 month later...
On 12/5/2020 at 4:48 PM, Bizman62 said: