Three string guitar

Hi all. Newbie here. I have built several three string guitars. Typical bolt for the nut and Home made bridge. Having trouble dialing in the neck. When tuned in GDG the twelfth feet harmonic is right on but when I travel up the neck most all fret positions are sharp  my neck is straight and on the last guitar I built I flattened and filed the frets. String height on all are a little different but all are playing the same. I used a paper template I purchased for the 23” scale and I was as accurate as I could be when laying out.  Any suggestions?  Also tried to attach pics but said the two pic file was to large? Any one know how to attach pics?  

37 minutes ago, Bombard said:

Hi all. Newbie here. I have built several three string guitars. Typical bolt for the nut and Home made bridge. Having trouble dialing in the neck. When tuned in GDG the twelfth feet harmonic is right on but when I travel up the neck most all fret positions are sharp  my neck is straight and on the last guitar I built I flattened and filed the frets. String height on all are a little different but all are playing the same. I used a paper template I purchased for the 23” scale and I was as accurate as I could be when laying out.  Any suggestions?  Also tried to attach pics but said the two pic file was to large? Any one know how to attach pics?  

First welcome to PG.

locating the bridge accurately is the most common problem from an intonation standpoint. I might suggest that you use the fret calculator on Stewmac.com site. That would be a good start to help overcome inaccuracies in your fret slot location and bridge saddle placement. Most likely choose acoustic style for the type of bridge saddle placement you are using. As far as scale that would not change from electric or acoustic.

MK

Welcome to the addiction!