my walnut bass!!!

This is my first build, so tell me what you think!

It's an original body design, based on the J-Bass and my G&L SB-1, but with a longer top horn.

SPECS:

-one-piece walnut body with sapwood inclusions,

arm bevel, back bevel, and contoured heel

-Warmoth satin finish Maple/Ebony neck

-Gotoh GB-7 tuners

-Tusq nut

-Neck bolted on with 10-24 stainless bolts into tapped holes in the maple

-Wenge backplate with stainless bolts into brass threaded inserts

-Vol-Blend-Tone wiring w/ side output jack

-Leo Quan Badass II bridge

-EMG P-J set pickups

-Dunlop Straplocks

-DR Lo-Rider strings

This thing has monster tone and sustain like you've NEVER heard, and the action can go incredibly low. It balances perfectly and plays like a dream. Overall, I couldn't be happier with my success. I just can't wait to build the next one... :D

PIC00001.jpg

PIC00007.jpg

PIC00004.jpg

PIC00010.jpg

Eventually I'll construct a site detailing the building process, but for now all I have time for is the completed pics.

PS for those of you who care about such things, these pics were taken on an Olympus 1.3 megapixel digital camera.

PPS Feel free to be harsh on any flaws; I am, after all, here to learn. B)

it probably just parts of acarpet or whatever, but what is that little piece of brown at the edge of the wood above the left top neck screw?( it seems to be between the neck and the body

But otherwise it looks wonderfull, I hope mine would turn out that good (im planing to build a bass over the summer)

Well, Warmoth had the great idea of burning their logos into the back of the neck heels. Usually hidden in the neck joint of a J-bass, this isn't so bad; however, with my revised heel shape, this wasn't the case. What you see is a small corner of that wood-burned logo peeking out from underneath the neck joint. It does not, however, affect the playability one iota.

-Warmoth satin finish Maple/Ebony neck