Can This Inlay Be Fixed?

Ok, I messed up. This is my first attempt at doing an inlay. I inlayed a piece of ebony into maple and glued it with black epoxy. I probably should have sealed the maple with clear first but it is too late for that. Instead, I used wax on the surface of the maple to try and prevent the black epoxy from bleeding into the wood pores but forgot the the walls of the inlay route were a conduit for the epoxy as well.

inlay_mistake.jpg

So...is this mess salvageable? Any and all suggestions, admonishments, and scoldings are welcome :D

Thanks Gurus and thinkers outside of the box

Try rubbing with a little piece of 000 steel wool. It might be enough to scour out the epoxy, but no guarantees, when that stuff sets its pretty hard.

Thanks Southpa - Yeah, I already tried to sand it down further with 100 grit and then I used an exacto to scrape out the contaminated pores (which helped a little). But as you can see it is still a mess. Guess I am going to have to chaulk this one up to learning the hard way.

What about trying it again with a bigger inlay? Cover up that one and use clear/amber epoxy this time :D

Guitarguy, thanks. I think that may be may only option.

Now if I attempt this again, is it a concensus that I should NEVER use black epoxy on maple again? Or is there an effective way to seal the pores to prevent the bleeding?

Here's an idea. Mask off everything BUT the maple (ie: mask off what looks like epoxy to the sides) and then go over that WHOLE maple area with the black epoxy, and then sand back. That way you can keep the inlay,a nd it has a uniform look because ALL of it will have the black epoxy in the grain, not just the bled over part.

Chris