I Suck At Making Necks

this is my fifth attempt at making a neck, and still as bad as the first time. i dont know how you guys do it. i run in to problems i never would of thought of even after i planned for 3 months for this one. how do all you do it. you all say its easy, but its the hardest thing i have ever done! i just cant get it to work!

Can you specify what you have trouble with the most?

CMA

lets see,

the scarf joint,

proper truss rod alignment and insertion and proper adjusting rout at the headstock

making

you know, only the MAJOR STUFF. no matter how many tutorials i read or books i read i can never get it right. i demo everything and practice and it seems ok, but then i get to the real project, and i screw up. i guess thats what happens when your self taught.

What, specifically is wrong with your scarf joint, truss rod alignment, etc.? Are you making them right but they wind up in the wrong place? or are they in the right place but the actual cuts are botched = large glue lines etc.? Bad planning / order of neck building steps? What sort of tools are you using for each step? Need specific info to open that "can 'o worms" you have there. :D

What, specifically is wrong with your scarf joint, truss rod alignment, etc.? Are you making them right but they wind up in the wrong place? or are they in the right place but the actual cuts are botched = large glue lines etc.? Bad planning / order of neck building steps? What sort of tools are you using for each step? Need specific info to open that "can 'o worms" you have there. :D