2 Piece Bodies Instead Of One

whats the point of this? a lot of people say that one piece bodies sound and are higher quality. i saw the godin factory tour, and they cut wood in half, then glue it back together. seems really stupid to me. is there actually a reason for this? the only reason i can think of would be to decrease drying time.

My opinion is that the "1-piece sounds better than 2-piece" thing is a crock. [Edit: In light of the following couple pages of conversation, just wanted to emphasize the first two words of this post, "My opinion..." I'm far from an expert, but I have been around guitars for many years, and this is just an expression of my experience so far. There's much to learn, of course.]

I'm not sure why they'd cut in half pieces that are wide enough to make bodies and then reattach them. 2-piece bodies are usually used because it's much more cost-effective to buy wood that's not as wide and glue it up.

It's also possible to get half a body through a 13" planer (of course that's not a problem for big commercial operations).

They are cutting that wide board into 3 pieces, two of which appear to be neck blank size and the other a 7 or so inch width for two piece bodies. They are making good use of the wood for matching body and neck pieces.

They are cutting that wide board into 3 pieces, two of which appear to be neck blank size and the other a 7 or so inch width for two piece bodies. They are making good use of the wood for matching body and neck pieces.

+1

One piece bodies aren't that common. It's hard to find many types of wood in that width, and even it you do it is going to be more expensive.

I think believe there is any trade-off in tone. Many factory produced guitars are 3 pieces or more, and many people have gotten great tones out of 'em.

CMA

Edited by CrazyManAndy