soldering advice needed

Ace

Hey folks,

I'm quite new to soldering, but after starting wiring a strat from the ground up over the weekend and installing two fender mexican singlecoils on another one today (my first strat "blackie" and my first real world soldering, it even works, yay!) I've noticed something: Soldering smoke tends to fly exactly where your nostrils are. I have not felt quite like this since I've stopped smoking, head is all light and spinning now... Is it normal that the smoke seems to be magically drawn to me? I know it's freaking toxic and helps growing nice big cancers, so what do you guys do (in addition to ensuring a good airflow in the room)? Wearing face masks? Soldering blindly with the head turned away?

Things I've learned so far:

- even if it's not hot enough to melt the solder, it's still very capable of burning your fingers

- metals are heat conductors

- poties are made of metal

- soldering pins will melt the insulation on any wire, or electrical tape in fractions of a second

- the above mentioned will smell even more god-awful than the actual soldering

so long

ace

My lungs have gotten very sensitive from years of painting. They hurt bad, so even using thinner, I have to wear my mask. Been doing soldering, the smell does'nt bother me, my dad was a tech and always was soldering stuff...it gives me a warm, fuzzy feeling :D but I don't get any effects from the smoke. My kids run saying it's putrid, I like it, but don't inhale on purpose. I have a small fan running behind my back, does'nt do much but enough to push some smoke away.

Everyone whos soldered know exactly what you're talkin' about... B) good luck, try a small fan.

thats really wierd- that dosn't happen to me. i don't even notice fumes. maybe i'm using a different kind of solder. i see the fumes.... but i don't seem to inhale them..?

what i hate is melting the wire. and when the wire moves away when you want to solder it.